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August 26, 2020 
 
Adopting fees for Retail Food Establishments, Restaurants and Mobile Food Processing Facilities. 

WHEREAS Wisconsin Statute 251.04(3) and 97.41(1m) provides that the Board of Health of the Eau 
Claire City-County Health Department shall have the authority to adopt regulations to protect and improve 
public health; and 

WHEREAS Wisconsin Statute 251.04(7) specifically states that such boards take such measures as shall 
be effectual for the preservation of the public health; and 

WHEREAS the Board of Health of the Eau Claire City-County Health Department did adopt such a 
regulation entitled "Food Establishment Regulation"; and 

WHEREAS Section Wisconsin Statute 66.0628 provides the authority to set and impose fees for services; 
and 

WHEREAS Section 1-0.060A of this regulation provides that the Board of Health shall establish fees for 
the permits for these facilities; 
 

THEREFORE, the Eau Claire City-County Board of Health does ordain that the following fees shall be 
required annually for the permits and as specified for reinspections, preinspections, plan reviews, and late fees 
of the various types of facilities as defined in the regulation. Such fees shall be reviewed periodically by the 
Board of Health for adjustments as needed. All fees shall be payable to the Eau Claire City-County Health 
Department or to the Eau Claire City Treasurer for Health Department permits being issued by the City Clerk's 
office. 
 
1. Restaurant Permit Fee, Plan Review Fee, and Preinspection Fee: The annual, non-returnable and non-prorated 
fees for restaurants, and temporary restaurants, as well as plan review and preinspection fees for new and 
change of operator are as follows: 

Restaurants Health 
Department Fee Plan Review Fee Preinspection 

Fee 
High Complexity: > $500,000 $1,988 $994 $994 
High Complexity: $100,000 - $499,999 $1,669 $835 $835 
High Complexity: <$100,000 sales $1,312 $656 $656 
Moderate Complexity: > $500,000 $1,215 $608 $608 
Moderate Complexity: $100,000 - $499,999 $1,021 $511 $511 
Moderate Complexity: <$100,000 sales $802 $401 $401 
Low Complexity: > $500,000 $846 $423 $423 
Low Complexity: $100,000 - $499,999 $712 $356 $356 
Low Complexity: <$100,000 sales $559 $280 $280 
Pre-Packaged $348 $174 $174 
Independent Food Prep/Service (Addt'l) $219     
Temp Restaurant License $200     
Temp Restaurants/Mobile Food Inspection $60     
Special Organization $401 $201 $201 

*Financial information is self-reported at time of initial license or renewal. 
 
2. Retail Permit Fee Schedule: The annual, non-returnable and non-prorated fees for retail food processing 
establishments, non-processing retail food establishments, mobile food processing facilities as well as plan 
review and preinspection fees for new and change of operator are as follows: 



Retail Food Establishments 
Health 

Department Fee Plan Review Fee 
Preinspection 

Fee 
Process Potentially Hazardous Sales of at least 
$1,000,000 (11) 

$1,504 $752 $752 

Process Potentially Hazardous Sales of at least 
$25,000 but less than $1,000,000 (22) 

$653 $327 $327 

Process Non-Potentially Hazardous Sales of at least 
$25,000 (33) 

$502  $251 $251 

Process Non-Potentially or Potentially Hazardous 
Sales of less than $25,000 (44) 

$238 $119 $119 

Non-Processing (55) $207 
  

Mobile Retail Food $150 
  

Micro-Market (Individual) $40   
Micro-Market (Multiple in Same Facility) $60   

**Financial information is self-reported at time of initial license or renewal. 
 
3. Late Fee: An additional penalty fee of $100 shall be required, as provided for in section 1-0.060B.1, whenever 
the annual fee for renewal is not paid prior to the expiration of the permit. 
 
4. Insufficient Funds Fee: Fees or payments returned from a financial institution for insufficient funds shall be 
subject to a penalty fee of $36 shall be required, as provided for in section 1-0.060B.2. 
 
5. Operators found to be operating without a valid permit shall be subject to a double license fee, as provided 
for in section 1-0.060B.3. 
 
6. Operators found to be operating without a certified food manager, as required by the Wisconsin Food Code, 
will be subject to a fee equal to that of the reinspection fee as provided for in section 1-0.060B.4. 
 
7. Inspection Fee, as provided for in section 1-0.060D, shall be assessed as follows: 

Temporary & Mobile Food Establishments: $60 
 

8. Reinspection Fees: A fee of $125 shall be required, as provided for in section 1-0.060E. 
 
9. The total preinspection fee for issuing permits within the same establishment under the operation of the 
same person shall be determined by using the largest pre-inspection fee and assessing 75% of the preinspection 
fee of any additional permit. 
 
10. Expiration of License: License shall expire on June 30 of each license year. 
 
11. Fees become effective on January 1st, 2021. 
 
Adopted by Board of Health on August 26, 2020 
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