About Us

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Eau Claire Police Department is committed to providing excellent service to the City of Eau Claire in pursuit of the highest quality of life for our citizens. Our mission is to enhance the quality of life in Eau Claire by partnering with the community to solve problems, reduce crime and disorder, safeguard individual rights, and improve public safety. Since 2006, the department has embraced a proactive problem-oriented policing philosophy which has proved valuable in meeting the department's mission.

The department consists of the following personnel:

  • 100 Sworn Law Enforcement Officers
  • 15 Administrative/Clerical Employees
  • 25 Communication Center Employees
  • 13 Temporary Part-Time Employees
  • 7 Non-Sworn Volunteers

Command Staff Directory

Unit #01 Staniszewski, GeraldChiefPolice Department(715) 839-4975
Unit #02 Hoyord, ChadDeputy ChiefPolice Department(715) 839-6060
Unit #03 Rokus, MattDeputy ChiefPolice Department(715) 839-4979
Unit #04 Thompson, KellyAdministrative Division ManagerPolice Department(715) 839-6171
Unit #05 Clark, DenaCommunications Center ManagerPolice Department(715) 839-1690
Unit #06 Southworth, JimLieutenant-NorthPolice Department(715) 839-4977
Unit #07 Weber, GregLieutenant-WestPolice Department(715) 839-8908
Unit #08 Thomas, DerekLieutenant-Professional StandardsPolice Department(715) 839-6281
Unit #09 Dahlgren, RyanLieutenant-InvestigationsPolice Department(715) 839-8682
Unit #10 Frederick, BenLieutenant-SouthPolice Department(715) 839-4990


Organizational Information

Administrative Division

The Administrative Division is comprised of the Records Section and Property and Evidence Section.

Records Info

  • Hours: 8:00AM to 5:00PM Monday-Friday
  • Phone: 715-839-4984
  • Fax: 715-552-7296
  • Email: police.records@eauclairewi.gov

Property Room Info

  • Hours: 8:00AM to 4:00PM Monday-Friday
  • Phone: 715-839-5072
  • Email: propertyroom@eauclairewi.gov
Patrol Division
The uniformed Patrol Division is responsible for emergency and non-emergency response to calls for service within the City of Eau Claire. The city is comprised of three patrol districts, and each has a District Commander, three Sergeants, and patrol officers assigned to it. The Patrol Division also has 2 Police K9s: K9 Jake and K9 Manso. 
Investigations & Professional Standards Division
The Investigations & Professional Standards Division consist of investigators and community outreach. Within the division there are sixteen investigators that specialize in certain areas such as financial crimes, sensitive crimes, computer forensics, polygraph examinations, etc... There are also three detective Sergeants, two Lieutenants, two Public Information Officers, a Crime Analyst, and a Training Technician in this division. 
Communications Center
The Eau Claire Emergency Communications Center is the central dispatch point for police, fire and emergency medical services in Eau Claire County. A civilian staff of twenty-one telecommunicators, three supervisors, and a director serves fourteen agencies in Eau Claire County. Communications Center staff is charged with answering all emergency and non-emergency calls for service throughout Eau Claire County.


Police Officer Memorial

Chief Elmer Sundby

Chief Elmer Sundby 

Elmer Sundby

Chief of Police, Eau Claire Police Deparment

December 28, 1872 - End of Watch July 26, 1921

On July 25, 1921 Chief Elmer Sundby made the ultimate sacrifice. Chief Sundby responded to a report of a robbery. The suspect fled towards the Chippewa River. Chief Sundby pursued the suspect and confronted him on the densely wooded river bank. Gunfire was ex-changed and Chief Sundby was wounded. He succumbed to his injuries the following day. Chief Sundby was a thirteen year veteran of the Eau Claire Police Department. 

Officer Robert Bolton

Officer Robert P Bolton 

Robert Paul Bolton

Police Officer, Eau Claire Police Department

February 14, 1954 - End of Watch October 6, 1982

On October 6, 1982 Officer Robert P Bolton made the ultimate sacrifice. Officer Bolton responded to a disturbance call at a domestic violence shelter. Officer Bolton attempted to question the suspect when he was shot. He was transported to a local hospital where he succumbed to his injuries. Badge #138 will be forever preserved in his honor. Officer Bolton was a four year veteran of the Eau Claire Police Department.


Additional Information

Employment Opportunities

Currently we accept applications for Police Officers and Telecommunicators year round. Applications, job descriptions, and benefit information can be found at the links below.

Junior Police Academy

 Junior Police Academy Logo

The mission of the ECPD Junior Police Academy is to enrich our agency’s connections with the children of Eau Claire and foster lasting partnerships to motivate children to become responsible citizens.

The Junior Police Academy provides a comfortable setting allowing youth to interact on a personal level with officers.  This allows us to transform the traditional role of an officer into one of a mentor, neighbor, role model and friend.  Students will receive insight into the functions of law enforcement and how the Eau Claire Police Department serves our community.

Each academy session is comprised of 30 youth ranging in ages from 12 to 17 years old.  The sessions are held for one week, Monday through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. with a graduation ceremony for family to attend on Friday evening.

Junior Police Academy Dates for 2019 are: 

  • June 24th - 28th
  • July 22nd - 26th
  • August 5th - 7th (Advanced course for prior JPA graduates.)

The Junior Police Academy is free to all applicants. This is made possible by the wonderful support of our community. 

If you would like to donate, please visit the Eau Claire Community Foundation.

Chippewa Valley Regional Computer Forensics Lab

 Chippewa Valley Regional Computer Forensics Lab Logo 

The Chippewa Valley Regional Computer Forensic Laboratory (CVRCFL) is a collaboration of investigators/examiners from the Eau Claire Police Department, the Eau Claire County Sheriff’s Department, the Altoona Police Department, and the Wisconsin Department of Justice-Division of Criminal Investigation. The CVRCFL helps identify, preserve, extract, and examine computer, cell phone, and other digital evidence for prosecution of a wide range of crimes committed in the Chippewa Valley.  In addition, the laboratory proactively works ICAC (Internet Crimes Against Children) investigations to identify and arrest child sexual predators in the Chippewa Valley.
The Eau Claire Police Department has two full-time, specially trained detectives assigned to the Chippewa Valley Regional Computer Forensics Lab.
Digital evidence is one of the fastest growing areas of evidence as related to criminal investigations. CVRCFL investigators work on a variety of cases including drug investigations, ICAC investigations, financial crimes, thefts and homicides. As technology expands in both power and mobility, the CVRCFL continues to prove to be a vital asset for the Eau Claire Police Department in keeping the community safe.

Detective Chad Stedl                   
Lead Digital Forensic Examiner

Detective Wade Beardsley                     
Digital Forensic Examiner

Support the Police Department

Support the Eau Claire Police Department by donating to the following funds: