The city is comprised of 3 districts: North, South, and West. Each patrol district has a District Commander, three Sergeants, and several officers assigned to it. Several neighborhoods exist within each district. If you would like to speak with one of your neighborhood Officers about a non-emergency issue fill out this form, and someone will get back to you as soon as possible. (If you are experiencing an emergency contact 911.)
If you have spoken with an Officer about an incident, and wish to submit an electronic voluntary statement reference the incident you were involved in or witnessed please use the following form. An incident number is required (this should have been provided to you by the Officer.)
The mission of the ECPD Junior Police Academy is to enrich our agency’s connections with the children of Eau Claire and foster lasting partnerships to motivate children to become responsible citizens.
The Junior Police Academy provides a comfortable setting allowing youth to interact on a personal level with officers. This allows us to transform the traditional role of an officer into one of a mentor, neighbor, role model and friend. Students will receive insight into the functions of law enforcement and how the Eau Claire Police Department serves our community.
Each academy session is comprised of 30 youth ranging in ages from 12 to 17 years old. The sessions are held for one week, Monday through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. with a graduation ceremony for family to attend on Friday evening.
Junior Police Academy Dates for 2019 are:
- June 24th - 28th
- July 22nd - 26th
- August 5th - 7th (Advanced course for prior JPA graduates.)
The Junior Police Academy is free to all applicants. This is made possible by the wonderful support of our community.
If you would like to donate, please visit the Eau Claire Community Foundation.
Per Wisconsin Statute, any crash within the State of Wisconsin must be reported when it results in:
- Injury of a person
- $1,000 or more damage to any person's vehicle or property
- Damage of $200 or more to state or other government - owned property other than a vehicle.
If law enforcement is called to the crash, they may have completed the report for you. If law enforcement does not file a report (and one or more of the above factors is met) you will need to complete the Wisconsin Driver Report of a Crash. Start your Motor Vehicle Crash Report.
Citizens are able to Ride-Along with an ECPD Officer. Ride Alongs are offered Sunday through Thursday for up to 2 hours. Please review the below guidelines before completing the Ride-Along Application found at the bottom of the information.
1. The participant shall be at least 16 years old. If the participant is under the age of 18, a parent/guardian shall sign the Ride–Along Application and Liability Waiver.
2. No person shall be allowed to ride without having submitted a signed Ride–a-long Application and Liability Waiver. Refusal to complete this form, or false statements of any nature on same, will disqualify that person from participation in the program.
3. As part of this program, the participant agrees to undergo a comprehensive police records check. If a participant has a criminal record, a supervisor will make the determination if the ride-along will occur.
4. Participants are only permitted to ride once in a calendar year, unless a special project calls for more time to be spent in squad cars. Any such projects shall be cleared through the Special Services Bureau Lieutenant.
5. CONFIDENTIALITY: The citizens of Eau Claire have a right to privacy. Any and all information pertaining to police records, police stops or other privileged material is to be kept strictly confidential. The release of criminal information to the public could conceivably be considered a felony. Adult arrest records are public information, but juvenile contacts/arrests are not.
6. The participant shall not carry, have access to, or use cell phones or electronic recording devices such as voice recorders, cameras, etc., without prior approval.
7. The participant shall be neat and clean and must wear appropriate clothing. There shall be no controversial insignias or symbols on the person or clothing. If the officer finds that the participant’s clothing does not represent the professionalism of the organization, he/she may ask the participant to reschedule the ride-along.
8. Participants are considered an observer only and shall obey the orders and instructions given by the officer to whom they are assigned.
9. Participants shall not leave the patrol vehicle unless instructed to do so by the officer.
10. The personal safety of the officer and the Department’s responsibilities to the community will be considered at all times. Therefore, an officer may terminate the ride-along at any time, without explanation or advance notice. In addition, if emergency circumstances dictate, the participant may be dropped off at a safe location.
The Eau Claire Police Department Records Division does not run background checks on citizens. We are however able to provide you with a "Contact List" of all cases you have been involved in with the ECPD. This is limited to only our cases, and you may have cases in other jurisdictions that would not be listed. If you are interested in this, please come to the ECPD Lobby Monday through Friday 8:00am - 4:30pm.
For a full list of your criminal history or an official background check, you may contact the Wisconsin Department of Justice (DOJ) at (608)266-1221 or by visiting their website and searching for the page on Background Checks.
Finger printing for the public is offered through the Eau Claire County Sheriff's Office. This includes fingerprinting for jobs, foster care, adoption, emergency medical service employment, daycare employment, or for any other purposes.
Hours of Operation?
Monday thru Thursday – 9:00am to 3:00pm - it takes approximately 15-20 minutes to complete the fingerprint process so please arrive at least 20 minutes prior to 3:00pm.
There is a cost associated with this service. For further details see the informational page on the Eau Claire Counties website. Any questions please call 715-839-7204
The information contained in this form helps us contact you, or someone at your business, in case of emergencies. Submit business keyholder form.
General property hours are Monday through Friday from 8:30AM until 3:30PM. Please call 715-839-5072 ahead of time for an appointment or submit a request using the form below.
Requested appointment times are not guaranteed. You will receive a confirmation email containing your scheduled appointment time after your request is reviewed during normal business hours.
Any other property/evidence inquires can be sent to The Property Room
The Certified Eau Claire Landlord Program (CELP) shows how property owners, residents, community advocates, and law enforcement can work together to prevent illegal activity. CELP helps teach landlords how to properly screen applicants, how to write and enforce rental agreements, how to identify illegal activity, and much more.
The next CELP course is Tuesday October 8th from 9am to 4pm. The course is free! Please see the brochure for more information about the program or registration.
The next class is Tuesday, October 8, 2019, 9am to 4pm. The course will be held in County Board Room 1277 in the Eau Claire County Courthouse at 721 Oxford Avenue Eau Claire, WI 54703.
The City of Eau Claire and Eau Claire County does not provide a location to dispose of ammunition. This needs to be done through a private company. Please contact companies in your area that sell firearms and ammunition to see if they provide this service.
Questions and Answers Regarding Additional Police Services
How can I contest a traffic ticket?
In order to contest a traffic ticket, you must first enter a not-guilty plea at your initial court hearing. You will then be given a time and date to discuss the ticket with the City Attorneys at a pre-trial conference.
When are pre-trial conferences held?
Pre-trial conferences are held on Thursday mornings at the Police Department from 9:00AM-11:00AM.
Where do I pay or request an extension for traffic, ordinance, or criminal fines?
Payment arrangements for fines are done at the Clerk of Court office which is located on the second floor of the Eau Claire County Court House.